Product Focus: Smashbox Studio Skin

There are a lot of foundations on the market these days, and I feel like companies like Smashbox have fallen out of focus. Perhaps its because so many indie brands are defining the market these days.Or maybe its because “all natural” and skin nourishing ingredients are becoming the bar that everyone must reach.

Smashbox used to be one oh my favorite brands. I know for certain that they were one of the first companies to do a foundation primer. They set the standard, and remain to have the most popular foundation primers on the market. Recently, they came out with their studio skin line. This is the description given by Ulta:

This hydrating foundation was created in Smashbox L.A. photo studio to look and feel amazing for 15 hours – from the set to the street. Because, really. Who has time for touch-ups?
What it does:

  • Medium-to-full buildable coverage
  • Oil-free, hydrating formula – without the shine
  • Light diffusing spheres blur imperfections
  • Sweat-proof, transfer-proof & exercise-resistant
  • Color true and color consistent

Smashbox is the only beauty brand with Flashbox Lighting Lab, where they test and perfect color consistency across all shades in any light. Apply this foundation in the morning and you’re flawless outdoors, at work and after-hours – and they can prove it.
Because Smashbox wants every woman to meet her match, they consulted global makeup artists around the world to ensure that their shade range works for all skin tones.
What it’s formulated WITHOUT:

  • Parabens
  • Sodium lauryl sulfate
  • Phthalates
  • Fragrance
  • Oil

Sweat proof, huh? I was skeptical considering I live in a humid and hot climate, have oily skin and sweat like a dude when I workout. But, Y’all, the claims are legit! I’m beyond impressed! Because of my oily skin, I find foundations slide off my face pretty quickly, even with a mattefying primer. But 12 hours later and it looks as fresh as when first applied. Same goes for the concealer. It gives medium to full coverage and blends beautifully.

Here’s my bare skin, no primer, no filter, just me with clean and moisturized skin.

dsc_0326-copy

I filled in my brows with the NYX brow pencil, and it meh. I think its too red for me. Then, I used the OG Smashbox photo finish primer and applied the Smashbox studio skin concealer (shade: light medium) with a beauty blender. Next, I applied the foundation (shade 2.15 – this is for red/neutral undertones) with the Urban Decay Orbital Blending foundation brush, and patter it in with a damp beauty blender. Finally, I set my under eye and face with the Laura Gellar translucent powder.

dsc_0342-copy

I tend to stay away from foundations that are considered “moisturizing” because usually they end up making me look like a greased pig. But this is really something else. I use this foundation when I know I’m going to be out and about all day. I know for a fact that I’ll look fresh from sun up to sun down.

Now, let’s talk about the finished look.

I love The Balm cosmetics. You’d think I was living under a rock because I’d never heard about them until recently after getting something from them in an Ipsy box. And because I saw the picture of their “Nude Dudes” pallet. I mean, nude eyeshadows featuring naked men and wrapped in their signature vintage packaging? Its like they were channeling me. Today, I used one of their Instain blushes in toile. The packaging is beyond lovely and the color lasts sooooooo loooooonnnnng.

But the showstopper is the slate blue-grey smoky eye. I have rediscovered my Urban Decay Naked Smokey pallet and haven’t been able to put it down. I’m a huge UD fan, but the Naked pallets don’t usually grab me. I don’t think they’re very versatile because of a serious lack of matte shades to easily tie in the lovely shimmers. But the smoky pallet is something else. dsc_0396-2

dsc_0384-2

 

dsc_0376-2I topped off the look with Lorac Cosmetics Alter Ego Lipgloss in Southern Belle. If you haven’t tried these lipglosses, give ’em a go. The opacity is great. They wear for a long time. They smell sweet-ish? The only downside is that I find if I wear them A LOT my lips get chapped.

So what do we think?

Products used:

Leave a Reply

