Boxy Charm Unboxing! October 2016

How have I not jumped on the subscription box band wagon till now? I love getting fun mail!

So far, I’ve subscribed to Boxycharm, Ipsy and Julep. My first box to come was October’s Boxycharm box, and it didn’t disappoint. Boxycharm is $21/month, which is on the expensive side for subscription boxes, BUT you get full-sized items. And, y’all, wait till you see!

dsc_0424-3

I received:

  • a full size travel palette from StudioMakeup
  • an eyeliner from Hikari
  • a hair mask from Project Beauty
  • a bottle of Butter London nail polish
  • Pur Lip Lure Hydrating Lip Laquer – “Frisky”

At first, I was skeptical about the eyeshadow palette. It apparently retails at $49.50, which I found shocking. The palettes you get within that price range are from well-known brands such as Too Faced, Urban Decay and Kat Von D. But, y’all I was impressed. The shadows were well pigmented and held up all day. I created a subtle smokey eye, and paired it with the lip color I also got. It was a nice, wearable fall look.

We’re just going to excuse my hair. I was having a day, y’all. The kind of day in which I found myself shocked that I made it out of the house.

I also swatched the lip color and eye kohl for y’all. The lip laquer was well-pigmented and the color was great, but its not particularly long wearing. I was a little disappointed considering I wasn’t even eating or drinking anything when it came off.

Next up is the Butter London nail polish called “Yummy Mummy”. So I actually already owned this color and love it. Its a neutral beige with a hint of silver shimmer to it. I can’t even call it glitter because the shimmer is so finely milled you don’t notice it on your fingers. I think it gives a little dimension to what could have been a flat color.

And because I can’t damn well leave well enough alone I added glitter to my own manicure.

Of course I did.

fullsizerender-2

Finally, I’ve been using the hair mask and I like it fine enough. I’m not as big a fan of the scent as a lot of people. I find it a little too sweet. The thickness is more like a conditioner. Not very heavy. I think if I were to purchase a hair mask on my own I’d choose something a little thicker. I can’t say I noticed my hair was less frizzy, but it definitely made it more manageable.

So there you have it! If you haven’t done a subscription box before, consider Boxycharm. Its $21 per month and this month’s box was valued at $111. That’s crazy!

Let me know if there are more aspects you’d have liked to see for any future unboxings. Have a great day, y’all!

Leave a Reply

